The classics meet the modern times

I finally started transferring my vinyl collection to FLAC (concentrating mainly on 7″ EPs and Mini-LPs). It’s gonna be a looong time before I’m finished though.

Thus far I’m basically transferring the music into Audacity via USB and then manually chopping the capture into songs. I know there’s probably a better and faster way to do it, but I’ve just started and I’m sure the proper tools will reveal themselves to me soon enough once I start looking for them 😉 Meanwhile, here’s a picture of a classic piece of vinyl in the process of going digital:

The music of 1989 meets the tech of 2009

The music of 1989 meets the tech of 2009

2 Responses to The classics meet the modern times

  1. Boost says:

    Nice. What is that USB-thingy you connect the vinylplayer to computer and how good is it supported under Linux?

    Another good blogpost of someone transfering vinyls to FLAC
    http://junocake.blogspot.com/2007/03/ripping-vinyl-with-gnulinux.html

    • Fighter Hayabusa says:

      My RIAA-equalizer has a USB-output built in so that’s what I’m using. It was completely plug-and-play under Fedora 10. I just plugged it in an selected it as my input device in Audacity.

Leave a Reply

